Here are answers to some commonly asked questions about coming to Remedy for the first time:
Q: Do I need to make an appointment?
A: No. We welcome new members first-come, first-served during the following hours:
- Monday-Friday 10:00am to 4:30pm
- Saturday 10:00am to 2:00pm
- We are closed on Sundays.
Q: Is there a fee to become a member of Remedy?
A: No. We just ask for a minimum purchase of $10 the first visit.
Q: What can I expect on my first visit?
A: Our friendly team is here to guide you, patiently answer all of your questions, and explain the many different products we have for you. You are important to us and we’re here to serve you!
- Our store is easy to find in a nice shopping plaza with ample lighting and plenty of parking.
- There is a handicap ramp to the right of our entrance and we will gladly assist you with the door.
- Our friendly security specialist will welcome you and a new member specialist will meet you in the foyer.
- After reviewing your credentials (see “What do I need to bring?” below) and discussing requirements for entry, we will invite you into the store and sit with you at the new member table.
- Once we complete the necessary forms, input your confidential information into our computer, and review our new member packet, you will be invited to one of our product consultation stations. That’s where you’ll see the many different products on our Menu, find out which products have helped other members with similar ailments, and get your questions answered. We’ll make sure you get effective remedies within your budget that will help you feel better!
“My first time coming to Remedy was so comforting… and supportive!”
~ Quote from a member of Remedy
Q: What do I need to bring with me?
A: The following items are required according to the rules of Maine’s Medical Use of Marijuana Program. By law, if you do not have these exact items we are prohibited from serving you.
For Maine Residents:
- A valid Maine driver’s license or Maine identification card.
- Both of the DHHS medical marijuana certification cards provided by your doctor.
- Cash. Unfortunately, we cannot accept credit cards. There is an ATM inside the store. A minimum $10 purchase is requested on your first visit.
If you are a visiting from another state:
If you live in a state with a medical marijuana program and have a medical marijuana certification/recommendation from your doctor, you are eligible to purchase medical marijuana while visiting in Maine if you have the following items:
- A state-issued valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card from your home state.
- A valid, tamper-proof medical use of marijuana certification issued by your physician. (Massachusetts residents must have a valid ID card issued by Massachusetts Health and Human Services Medical Use of Marijuana Program)
- A valid Maine Certification form on tamper-proof paper completed, signed and dated by your home physician. For more information on how to get this document, ask your physician to contact Maine’s program administrator.
- The address where you will be staying during your extended visit to Maine.
- Unfortunately, we cannot accept credit cards (except for accessories). There is an ATM inside Remedy. A minimum $15 purchase is requested on your first visit.
“The first thing I was struck by was how professional everyone is here.”
~ Quote from a member of Remedy
Q: How long will my first visit take?
A: Plan to spend at least 30 minutes with us on your first visit. It really depends on how many questions you have for us and how much explanation you would like of the many different products we have to choose from.
Q: What is required to become a member of Remedy?
A: During your first visit, we will complete the following:
- Designation Form – All new members are required to complete a DHHS Designation Form. We will explain the form to you, especially the part about how many plants you want Remedy to grow on your behalf. You must designate Remedy to grow at least one plant to shop in our store.
- Membership agreement
- Photocopy your state photo ID for our records
- One of your physician certification cards will be kept on file while you are a member at Remedy. If you are from out of state, we will make a copy of your Maine Certification form.
Q: Can my family members come in with me?
A: Your spouse or other immediate family members can come in with you if they have a state-issued driver’s license or state-issued photo ID showing they live at the same address as you. We are sorry, but no children are allowed in Remedy unless they are a member.